The Association for International Cancer Research uses cookies to ensure we give you the best experience we can. Details can be found in our Cookies Statement. If you continue without changing your settings we assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the AICR website.

Scientific Advisers

AICR is at the forefront of cancer research. The work of the Scientific Advisory Committee which carries out a rigorous peer review process ensures that only research of the highest calibre is funded, regardless of where it is being carried out in the world.

Our Scientific Advisory Committee is made of eminent cancer specialists who give up their time voluntarily for the twice yearly meetings, to evaluate proposals and make funding decisions on our behalf. After intense scrutiny, we award projects that meet our strict criteria. This ensures that AICR funds only research of the highest quality. Our thanks go to the members of the committee for their time, expertise and enthusiasm.

SAC group shot 2011
Scientific Advisory Committee 2013
  • Chairman - Professor Harry Vrieling, Leiden University, Netherlands. 
  • Professor Eduard Batlle, Institute for Research in Biomedicine (IRB),Barcelona, Spain
  • Professor Cedric Blanpain, Universite Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), Brussels, Belgium
  • Professor Dominique Bonnet, CRUK London Research Institute, England
  • Dr James Brenton, Cambridge Research Institute, University of Cambridge, England
  • Professor Lena Claesson-Welsh, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Professor Paul Coffer, University Medical Center Utrecht, The Netherlands
  • Professor Peter Fischer, University of Nottingham, England
  • Professor Jonathan Frampton, University of Birmingham, England
  • Professor Andrew Fry, University of Leicester, England
  • Dr Michelle Garrett, Institute of Cancer Research, London, England
  • Professor Ron Hay, University of Dundee, Scotland
  • Professor Kari Hemminki, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, Germany
  • Professor Kevin Hiom, University of Dundee, Scotland
  • Professor Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke, Barts & Queen Mary, University of London, England
  • Professor Aart Jochemsen, University of Leiden, Netherlands
  • Professor Noel Lowndes, National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland
  • Dr Angeliki Malliri, Paterson Institute, Manchester, England
  • Professor Iain McNeish, University of Glasgow, Scotland
  • Professor Jim Norman, Beatson Institute for Cancer Research, Glasgow, Scotland
  • Professor Christoph Plass, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, Germany
  • Dr Simona Polo, IFOM, Milan, Italy
  • Professor Catrin Pritchard, University of Leicester, England
  • Professor Pedro Romero, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research - Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Professor Mark Searcey, University of East Anglia, Norwich, England
  • Professor Michael Seckl, Imperial College London, England
  • Professor Reiner Siebert, University of Kiel, Germany
  • Professor Alain Trautmann, Institute Cochin, Paris, France
  • Professor Bart Vanhaesebroeck, Barts & Queen Mary, University of London, England
  • Professor Christine Watson, University of Cambridge, England
  • Professor John Wyke, AICR Board of Directors (ex-officio)
  • Dr Helen Rippon, Head of Science (ex-officio)
  • Dr Lara Bennett, AICR Science Communications Manager (ex-officio)

"With contributions from like minded people, we have been funding cutting edge research for 32 years - with your help we can continue to do so."

Please make a donation.

amrc peer review


Content managed by CC Technology